Bryn Mawr Hosts 2018 Seven Sisters Cross Country Championship

Seven Sisters 2018 team runners


Program Course Map
Final Results

MEDIA, Pa. - Vassar College took six of the top ten spots to win Sunday's 2018 Seven Sisters Championship meet, hosted by Bryn Mawr College. Wellesley's Grace Cowles took first place overall with a time of 23:06.

The Brewers finished with a team score of 30 on the challenging 6k course, led by Hannah Martin. The sophomore claimed second place in the event, finishing in a time of 23:12. Vassar also got a top-five finish from Megan Horn, who ran a 23:19. Christiana Prater-Lee (23:34), Cameron Daddis (23:34), and Seneca Straub (23:38) all finished in the top ten to round out the Brewers' scorers and give them their 30-point total in the event. That consistency was more than enough to give Vassar the championship. Wellesley took second place as a team thanks to Cowles' tremendous performance. The sophomore finished six seconds ahead of the next-closest finisher to claim her victory in dominant fashion. Maya Bradbury also posted a top-five finish for the Blue, taking fifth place with a time of 23:24. However, Wellesley was unable to topple the reigning champions, as their next three finishers came outside of the top ten, giving Wellesley 49 points on the day.

Smith came in third place with 81 points, led by a strong sixth-place finish by Karena Garcia in a time of 23:28. Mount Holyoke claimed fourth place with 106 points on the back of Simone Jacob's 12th place finish. St. Catherine's Riley McMahon earned third place overall with a beautiful race, finishing in 23:13 and helping the Wildcats finish in fifth place with 116 points. Bryn Mawr took sixth place in the event, thanks to strong races from Anna Kyle (24:32) and Emma Fiorini (24:58).

Allegra Wham (27:11), Nina Inman (27:21), and Emily Haller (27:32) rounded out the top five for the Owls. Other Bryn Mawr runners in action included Amelia McDonnell (27:35), Sarah Keane (27:38), Campbell Powell (28:15), Hannah Stanley (28:50), and Shannon Fisher (29:05). Zoe Shinefield (29:05), Hannah Kim (29:25), Sophia Skinner (29:40), Emily Darrow (31:32), Rose Arasa (33:22), and Hope Jones (35:31) also put up strong races for Bryn Mawr.

Today's result is the second-straight victory for Vassar at Seven Sisters and the third championship for the Brewers in this event since 2013. Cowles is the second Wellesley runner in as many years to take the individual title, after the Blue's Isabella King took first in 2017.

All-Seven Sisters Team

First Team
Grace Cowles, Wellesley (23:06.0)
Hannah Martin, Vassar (23:12.8)
Riley McMahon, St. Catherine (23:13.7)
Megan Horn, Vassar (23:19.1)
Maya Bradbury, Wellesley (23:24.3)
Karena Garcia, Smith (23:28.5)
Christiana Prater-Lee, Vassar (23:34.1)

Second Team
Cameron Daddis, Vassar (23:34.4)
Seneca Straub, Vassar (23:38.2)
Elise Matera, Vassar (23:41.3)
Frances Duncan, Smith (23:47.6)
Simone Jacob, Mount Holyoke (23:53.7)
Taylor Mahlandt, Wellesley (23:57.4)
Ava Shipman, Wellesley (23:58.0)

Team Scores
Vassar - 30
Wellesley - 49
Smith - 81
Mount Holyoke - 106
St. Catherine - 116
Bryn Mawr - 167

2018 Seven Sisters Cross Country Championship Participants

Smith College logo
Bryn Mawr Mount Holyoke Saint Catherine Smith Vassar Wellesley
Roster Roster Roster Roster Roster Roster


History of the Seven Sisters

In November 1980, Barnard hosted Bryn Mawr, New Rochelle and Vassar in a four-team basketball tournament, won by New Rochelle. Following the tournament, the original Seven Sisters institutions - Barnard, Bryn Mawr, Mount Holyoke, Radcliffe, Smith, Vassar and Wellesley - joined to conduct championships in common sports. Radcliffe (now Harvard in the athletic arena) was invited but opted not to join and Barnard (now competing as Columbia) was unable to participate in all championships.

Without Radcliffe and Barnard, only five of the original Seven Sisters remained. Haverford and Swarthmore were invited to join the championships as cousins, and depending on the tournament, several other schools have been invited to compete, including: Agnes Scott, Haverford, Swarthmore, Simmons, Elms and Saint Catherine. Seven Sisters Tournaments are currently held in crew, cross country, squash, swimming and diving, tennis and volleyball.