Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Keep Earns All-Conference Honors with 7th Place Finish at Championships

Keep Earns All-Conference Honors with 7th Place Finish at Championships

WESTMINSTER, Md. – Junior Claudia Keep earned 1st Team All-Centennial Conference honors Saturday afternoon for her 7th place finish at the annual Centennial Conference Cross Country championships hosted by McDaniel College at the  Carroll County Farm Museum.

Keep was the Owls' top finisher as she completed the 6K course in a time of 23:15.40, good for 7th place overall. She finished behind all five of Johns Hopkins top runners and Emily Scott of Haverford.

Sophomore Hannah Hastings and junior Kim Wiley took home 42nd and 46th place overall, respectively. Hastings ran a time of 25:01.80, a personal best at the 6K distance, while Wiley finished the race with a 25:06.80. Today marked the first time since 2006 that three Bryn Mawr runners placed in the top 50 at the championship event.

Junior Elaine Schmidt took home 72nd place overall with a 27:01.90 followed by sophomore Alexandra Beda in 77th place with a 27:47.90 to round out Bryn Mawr's top five finishers.

Sophomore Rebecca Craig finished 88th place with a 28:59.50 while senior Victoria Travis (90th; 29:19.90) and freshman Ashley Macina (91st; 29:24.70) put forth another great race. Travis ended up as the 7th runner for the Owls while Macina made her debut at the 6K distance.

Taking home the individual title was Holly Clarke of Johns Hopkins. She completed the course in 22:22.70. The Blue Jays took home the team title with 17 team points followed by Haverford. Dickinson, Swarthmore and Muhlenberg rounded out the top-5. Bryn Mawr claimed 6th place by one point over Gettysburg. Ursinus took home 8th followed by Franklin and Marshall and McDaniel.

With Bryn Mawr finishing 6th overall it marks the highest finish for the Owls as a team since 1998.

The Owls are back to action on Saturday, Nov. 16, as they travel to Lehigh University for the 2013 NCAA Mid East Regionals. The race begins at 11:00 am.