Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Keep Wins Seven Sisters in Dominating Fashion

Keep Wins Seven Sisters in Dominating Fashion

NORTHAMPTON, Mass. – Junior Claudia Keep won the 2013 Seven Sisters Cross Country Championships in dominating fashion as she set a new course record with a time of 18:23.3. She becomes the second Owl to win the annual championship in as many years as Kristina Kroanuer won the 2012 race. In addition, Keep also set a new course record.

Keep's performance finished the 5K course 29 seconds faster than the second place finisher, Aburee Piepmeier of Vassar.  Smith's Danielle Opatovsky finished in third place with a time of 18:59, and Vassar's Kate Snider (19:10) and St. Catherine's Ailee Larson (19:20) rounded out the top five.

In addition to Keep's great performance, classmate Kim Wiley completed the race with a time of 20:35.9, 34th overall. Junior Elaine Schmidt ran a 20:41.3 followed by sophomore Hannah Hastings with a 20:49.8, good for 37th and 40th place overall, respectively.

Sophomore Rebecca Craig completed the course in 21:46.0 beating classmate Alexandra Beda to the finish line by one second. Freshman Sydney Maves rounded-out Bryn Mawr top-seven runner with a time of 22:34.9.

As a team, the Vassar College Brewers won the team championship with a team score of 38. Wellesley (55 pts.) was second followed by Smith (73 pts.), St. Catherine (110) and Bryn Mawr (121), Mount Holyoke (130 pts.) and Simons (202).

The top-ten finishers earn All-Seven Sisters honors.

The Owls are back to action when they travel to Haverford on Friday, Oct. 25, for the Haverford Invite at 4:30 pm.

All Seven Sisters Team
Claudia Keep, Bryn Mawr (18:23.3)
Aburee Piepmeier, Vassar (18:52.9)
Danielle Opatovsky, Smith (18:59.9)
Kate Snider, Vassar (19:10.9)
Ailee Larson, St. Catherine (19:20.9)
Priyanka Fouda, Wellesley (19:29.4)
Micaela Young, Smith (19:32.8)
Lucy Balcezak, Vassar (19:41.2)
Mary Keenan, Wellesley (19:44.5)
Alice Zhou, Wellesley (19:45.6)