Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Kronauer Races into the Record Books at 2012 Seven Sisters Championships

Kronauer Races into the Record Books at 2012 Seven Sisters Championships

WELLESLEY, Mass. – Senior Kristina Kronauer added to her already long list of accomplishments with her victory at Seven Sisters Championship. With the win, she becomes the 23rd diferent runner to win the annual showdown that began in 1982.

Running at the 31st Seven Sisters Cross Country Championship, held at Elm Bank Reservation by Wellesley College, Kronauer became to first Bryn Mawr runner to lead the field to the finish line at the annual championships. The 5k event featured 94 runners from six teams, as Wellesley welcomed Bryn Mawr College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, St. Catherine University and Vassar College.

Kronauer crossed the finish line in a swift 17:53, more than 15-seconds faster than Aubree Piepmeier of Vassar, who finished the 5K race in 18:12. Danielle Opatovsky (18:13) of Smith claimed the third fastest time of the day to round out the podium finishers.

Not only was it a great race for Kronauer, it was a great day for sophomore Claudia Keep. Keep posted a 6th place finish in the time of 18:30 en route to earning All-Seven Sisters honors. With a solid 33rd overall place finish, freshman Rebecca Craig finished the course in 19:53 in her first-ever Seven Sisters Championship.

Bryn Mawr's fourth runner of the day, sophomore Georgia Robles, sprinted to a 20:15 while the freshman duo of Hannah Hastings (24:45) and Alexandra Beda (20:45) were Bryn Mawr's fifth and sixth fastest runners of the day, respectively. The top six were chased by sophomore Kim Wiley who posted a time of 20:48. Also running well for the Owls was senior Emily Bell who completed her final Seven Sisters race in 21:19. She was followed by sophomore Elaine Schmidt (21:40) and juniors Sarah Macholdt (21:45) and Victoria Travis (22:22).

The Blue won the event on their home course with a team score of 44, topping second-place Vassar who recorded 65 total points. St. Catherine finished in third place overall with 87 points, followed by Smith (93), Bryn Mawr (105) and Mount Holyoke (138). 

With the win, Wellesley claimed their ninth team title in program history and first since 2009. The Blue leads the overall field with their nine wins, followed by Smith with seven, Haverford with five, and Mount Holyoke with three. Vassar, Swarthmore and Columbia each won the event twice, while Barnard won one, the first ever contested in 1982. 

Kronauer, Piepmeier and Opatovsky were the first three representatives on the All-Seven Sisters team. They were joined by Vassar's Kelly Holmes, Wellesley's Priyanka Fouda, Ada Smith, and Cristina Lucas, Bryn Mawr's Claudia Keep, and St. Catherine's Ailee Larson and Emily Sweet.

All Seven Sisters Team (Top 10 Finishers)

1. Kristina Kronauer, Bryn Mawr College - 17:53 

2. Aubree Piepmeier, Vassar College - 18:12  
3. Danielle Opatovsky, Smith - 18:13 
4. Kelly Holmes, Vassar College - 18:21 
5. Priyanka Fouda, Wellesley College - 18:29  
6. Claudia Keep, Bryn Mawr College - 18:30
7. Ada Smith, Wellesley College - 18:36  
8. Cristina Lucas, Wellesley College - 18:37
9. Ailee Larson, St. Catherine - 18:39
10. Emily Sweet, St. Catherine - 18:40

Team Scores
1. Wellesley, 44
2. Vassar, 65
3. St. Catherine, 87
4. Smith, 93
5. Bryn Mawr, 105
6. Mount Holyoke, 138